Dennis Porterfield  Donate to Dennis

 

Age:

          58

DCIM120GOPRO

Years Paddled: 

Rookie 2016

Family:

Married to my wife Diane for 13 years.

Where he’s from:

I was born in Durham NC, Raised in Cary NC, Have since lived in Fuquay-Varina NC, Anderson SC and currently live in Haw River NC.

Education:

Cary High School, Wake Technical Institute, Western Carolina University, Alamance Community College

Work:

I  have worked at Borg Warner Automotive, Robert Bosch Automotive, Pass & Seymour Legrand, and Strata Solar.

Fun Facts:

I am Certified advanced open water diver, member Collie Rescue of the Carolinas, member of the Friends of the Mountains to Sea Trail in NC, and member of the Appalachian Trail Conservancy.

Essential Paddling Gear:

My life jacket, just in case!

What has influenced his life:
My father’s occupation kept him on the road and away from home a lot when I was growing up. When he was home, he always involved me in projects around the house and repairing things. I was responsible for taking care of things around the house when he was not at home.  I also spent many weeks on my grandparent’s farm working with my grandfather during the summers. I learned a lot about the land and growing and taking care of things. I was a Boy Scout in a troop with an active outdoor program. We camped and hiked each summer for 1 week on the Appalachian Trail which was a highlight for me.

In his own words:

My parents have both had cancer and I am fortunate to still have them both. My mother has the best attitude. Each time Cancer calls, she fights back and wants to know what the best options for success are. She then jumps in the battle full force saying she needs to get through this because she has a lot of living left to do! My parents like to travel and they start planning a trip when they need a goal to work through recovery.  I have had friends and family members with cancer and seen the suffering it causes. I am raising money for the American Cancer Society in efforts to support cures for cancer and end the suffering.

Please follow & like us :)