Chris Tart  Donate to Chris

Skipper

Age:             50

Years Paddled:

2012-2016 

Family:

I have been married 29 years to my high school sweetheart and our team founder Kim.  We have a daughter, Danielle and son-in-law Josh, and our son Zach and his girlfriend Heather who all live just a few miles away from us.  All four help out our team in support roles.

Where he’s from:

I was born and raised in Erwin, NC and moved across the river to the family farm in the Great Flat Woods when Kim and I got married, and have lived there ever since.

Education:

I graduated from Erwin High School in 1985 and I have attended Fayetteville Tech, Central Carolina Community College and Wake Technical Institute. 

Work:

I have worked in State Government for 25 years and currently I am a Category Manager with the Department of Administration, Division of Purchase & Contract.

What has influenced his life:

I have had and still have a lot of people who have influenced my life.  When I was growing up, the phrase “it takes a village to raise a child” really meant something and many hands played a part in the direction my life has gone.  You can read about some of them at my blog.  http://twenty8november.blogspot.com/

Fun Fact:

Thanks to my grandmothers, I am the only one in my house that can thread and run a sewing machine!

Essential Paddling Gear:

After paddling for a couple of days with the Castaways on their tour, I fell in love with the Current Designs Solstice GT.  My Carolina 14 will be joining us for the white water the first day of the tour but the next 7 days will be in my Solstice GT Titan.  I used to think that it didn’t matter what kind of paddle you used as long as you had one, until I got a real paddle in my hand and now I don’t think I could make it without my Werner Ikelos.  It is like paddling with a feather.

In his own words: 

Click here to read Chris’s Story

 

Please follow & like us :)